Toward 2025 – Phase 2 of deposit-refund modernization

Network of Consignaction return sites takes shape

Montreal, April 2, 2024 -
Ahead of the March 2025 rollout of Phase 2 of modernization of the deposit-refund system, this spring the Quebec Beverage Container Recycling Association (QBCRA)/Consignaction is beginning implementation of a network of at least 1,500 Consignaction return sites across Quebec. By the end of 2026, this infrastructure will comprise up to 400 new return sites—entirely dedicated to recovery of redeemable containers—as well as sites at already participating retailers.

“The Quebec Beverage Container Recycling Association/Consignaction’s return-site model is innovative in terms of customer experience and inspired by best practices,” said Normand Bisson, President and CEO, QBCRA. “These return sites are a key factor in achieving our target recovery rate of 90% by 2032. The goal is to provide Quebecers with rapid, efficient points of service using high-performance equipment powered by next-generation technology.”

Expansion of deposit-refund to include more containers

When Phase 2 is launched on March 1, 2025, a wide variety of additional beverage containers, including bottles of wine and spirits as well as water bottles, will become redeemable, as will an additional material: multi-layer carton. 

A robust, accessible hybrid network
In collaboration with its partners, the QBCRA/Consignaction will implement a robust network of return sites with sufficient capacity to process the expected large volumes of beverage containers, as the number of units subject to the expanded system increases to 5 billion from 2.8 billion. To achieve this, a hybrid network will be used. On the one hand, return sites at retailers, dubbed “Zone Consignaction”, will be equipped with next-generation reverse vending machines that will crush glass and compact other materials (aluminum, plastic and multi-layer carton). These will be complemented by Consignaction and Consignaction+ return sites in streetfront locations, exclusively dedicated to redeemable-container returns and with the capacity to rapidly process large quantities. The QBCRA/Consignaction plans to open nearly 200 of these sites by March 1, 2025 (seeFact sheet 4  – Description and Features of Consignaction Return Sites). All of these sites will be easily accessible and located along the most usual grocery-shopping routes. In addition, users will have the option of receiving their refund via a mobile app. 

Consignaction: single and express returns
The Consignaction return sites will be set up in commercial spaces branded with the Consignaction logo and colours. Citizens who use these spaces will be able to use the new-generation automated recycling machines (single-unit returns) or the express return service, as they wish. This service will allow them to drop off bags of unsorted containers, provided they have created an account on the mobile application website or have downloaded it onto their smartphone. Once the containers have been sorted and counted, their refund will be sent by secure electronic means. . See the mock-ups in the press room on the Consignaction website.

Consignaction+: single-unit, express and bulk returns 
The Consignaction+ return sites will be larger and capable of processing very large volumes, making them attractive to citizens, industrial, commercial and institutional (ICI) customers as well as establishments offering on-site consumption. In addition to single-unit and express returns, they will offer bulk return service, thanks to even more efficient equipment that will enable processing of hundreds of containers in minutes.
 See the mock-ups on the Consignaction website’s press room.

Progress report on Phase 1

The QBCRA/Consignaction gave a positive assessment of Phase 1 of the deposit-refund modernization, which began on November 1, 2023. Since then, the system has accommodated some 300 million additional aluminum beverage containers, which are now redeemable and for which the deposit amount has been increased to 10 cents in the majority of cases. And the results of a fall 2023 survey of 1,000 respondents show that 90% of people are aware that the deposit amount has risen to 10 cents. 

Quebecers have actively participated in the deposit-refund system, as evidenced by the in-store redemption rate, which increased by 9% during the period November 2023 to February 2024 versus the same period a year earlier. Meanwhile, the rate of beverage containers rejected by reverse vending machines is down by more than 50%, to 1.3% from 3%. That success is the result of concerted efforts by the QBCRA/Consignaction and its partners.

Consignaction and the Quebec Beverage Container Recycling Association (QBCRA) 
Since 2001, programs branded with the Consignaction name have promoted beverage-container recovery to citizens and companies. Consignaction is the official emblem for promoting the activities of the QBCRA to the public and stakeholders. The QBCRA is the designated management body (DMB) for the development, implementation, financing and management of the modernized deposit-refund system, in line with the principle of extended producer responsibility (EPR). Its members are the various beverage producers involved in the recovery, reuse, recycling and reclamation of beverage containers in Quebec. For more information, visit  www.consignaction.ca

– 30 –

For more information, please contact Annie Jolicoeur, 514 231-5818, [email protected]

En route vers 2025 – Phase 2 de la modernisation de la consigne

Un réseau de lieux de retour Consignaction prend forme

Montréal, le 2 avril 2024 – En vue du déploiement de la phase 2 de la modernisation du système de consigne en mars 2025, l’Association québécoise de récupération des contenants de boissons (AQRCB)/Consignaction amorce dès ce printemps la mise en place d’un réseau de récupération d’au moins 1500 lieux de retour Consignaction partout au Québec. Cette infrastructure comptera jusqu’à 400 nouveaux lieux de retour d’ici la fin de l’année 2026 — dont la seule fonction est la récupération des contenants de boisson consignés — et des points de retour chez des détaillants déjà participants

« L’Association québécoise de récupération des contenants de boissons/Consignaction propose un modèle de lieux de retour qui innove sur le plan de l’expérience client tout en s’inspirant des meilleures pratiques. Ces lieux de retour constituent une composante clé dans l’atteinte de la cible d’un taux de récupération de 90 % d’ici 2032. L’objectif consiste à offrir aux citoyens un service rapide et efficace grâce à un équipement performant intégrant des technologies de pointe », a affirmé M. Normand Bisson, président-directeur général.

Élargissement de la consigne à de nouveaux contenants

À compter du 1er mars 2025, au lancement de la phase 2, une quantité importante de nouveaux contenants de boisson, tels que les bouteilles de vin et spiritueux et les bouteilles d’eau, sera consignée ainsi qu’une nouvelle matière : le carton multicouche.

Un réseau robuste, hybride et accessible
L’AQRCB/Consignaction implantera, en collaboration avec ses partenaires, un réseau robuste qui aura la capacité de traiter les grands volumes anticipés de contenants de boisson, alors que le nombre d’unités assujetties à la consigne passera de 2,8 milliards à 5 milliards. Pour ce faire, le réseau sera hybride; c’est-à-dire qu’il sera constitué de points de retour chez les détaillants, nommés Zone Consignaction. Ils seront pourvus de récupératrices automatisées de nouvelle génération qui concassent le verre et compactent les autres matières (aluminium, plastique et carton multicouche). À ces derniers s’ajouteront des lieux de retour Consignaction et Consignaction+ aménagés dans de locaux ayant pignon sur rue, exclusivement réservés à la consigne, qui traiteront vite fait de grandes quantités de contenants. D’ici le 1er mars 2025, l’AQRCB/Consignaction a pour objectif d’en ouvrir près de 200 (voir la Fiche d’information 4 – Description et caractéristiques des lieux de retour Consignaction). Tous ces sites seront facilement accessibles et situés sur l’itinéraire habituel de magasinage des citoyens. Enfin, les citoyens qui le souhaitent pourront recevoir leur remboursement par le biais d’une application mobile.

Consignaction : retour à l’unité et retour express
Les lieux de retour Consignaction éliront domicile dans des locaux commerciaux aux couleurs de la consigne. Les citoyens qui fréquentent ces espaces pourront utiliser, à leur guise, les récupératrices automatisées de nouvelle génération (retour à l’unité) ou utiliser le service de retour express. Ce service permet aux citoyens de déposer leurs sacs de contenants non triés à condition de créer un compte sur le site Internet de l’application mobile ou d’avoir téléchargé celle-ci sur son téléphone intelligent. Une fois les contenants triés et décomptés, leur remboursement sera acheminé par voie électronique sécurisée. Consultez les maquettes dans la salle de presse du site Internet Consignaction.

Consignaction+ : retour à l’unité, retour express et retour en vrac
Plus vastes et capables de traiter de très grands volumes, les lieux de retour Consignaction+ intéresseront les citoyens, les industries, les commerces et les institutions (ICI) ainsi que les établissements de consommation sur place (ÉCSP). En plus du retour à l’unité et du retour express, ils offriront un service de retour en vrac avec des équipements encore plus performants pouvant traiter des centaines de contenants en quelques minutes. Consultez les maquettes dans la salle de presse du site Internet Consignaction.

Mise à jour de la phase 1

L’AQRCB/Consignaction dresse un bilan positif de la phase 1 de la modernisation de la consigne qui a débuté le 1er novembre dernier. Quelque 300 millions de contenants additionnels en aluminium peuvent maintenant être consignés et le montant de la consigne a été haussé à 10 cents pour la majorité des contenants de boisson. D’ailleurs, selon un sondage réalisé auprès de 1000 répondants à l’automne 2023, 90 % des personnes interviewées savent que le montant de la consigne s’élève dorénavant à 10 cents.

Les Québécois ont participé activement à la consigne comme l’indique le taux de consigne remboursé en magasin qui a augmenté de 9 % entre novembre 2023 et février 2024 en comparaison avec les statistiques pour les mêmes mois de l’année précédente. Quant au taux de contenants de boisson rejetés par les récupératrices, il a diminué de plus de 50 %, en passant de 3 % à 1,3 %. Le succès de cette opération est attribuable au travail concerté de l’AQRCB/Consignaction et de ses partenaires.

Consignaction et l’Association québécoise de récupération des contenants de boissons (AQRCB)
Depuis 2001, les programmes Consignaction font la promotion de la récupération auprès des citoyens et des entreprises. Consignaction est la marque officielle pour promouvoir les activités de l’Association québécoise de récupération des contenants de boissons (AQRCB) auprès du grand public et des parties prenantes. L’AQRCB est l’organisme de gestion désigné qui a le mandat d’élaborer, de mettre en œuvre, de financer et de gérer le système de consigne modernisé selon le principe de la responsabilité élargie des producteurs (REP). Elle regroupe les producteurs de boissons engagés dans la récupération, le réemploi, le recyclage et la valorisation des contenants de boisson au Québec. Pour en savoir plus, www.consignaction.ca

– 30 –

Renseignements : Annie Jolicoeur, 514 231-5818, [email protected]