September 2020

Would you like to order?

Consignaction launches a new advertising campaign to promote deposit-refund. With the slogan "Consign-tu?", this fall offensive features Marie-Lyne Joncas in a message urging Quebecers to return their refundable/returnable containers out of "respect for nature".

In a 15-second video, the outspoken artist reminds the public that "the days of throwing away anything, anywhere, anyhow, are over" and that refundable/returnable containers "you can't just throw it away!

"Quebecers are very concerned about environmental issues, and it's clear today that throwing away your refundable/returnable containers is perceived by most as a socially unacceptable gesture," says Normand Bisson, President of Consignaction. Bringing your deposits back to dépanneur or to the supermarket is a basic ecological gesture that avoids wasting resources: all recovered containers are 100% recycled," adds Mr. Bisson.

The campaign, which officially kicks off today, is broadcast primarily on the web, including Youtube, tou.tv, noovo, RDS and social networks. It will also be presented on television on the reality show OD, once again sponsored by Consignaction. Finally, posters bearing the slogan Consign-tu? slogan on a number of arteries in the Montreal and Quebec City regions.

In Quebec, Consignaction and its partners manage to recover nearly 75% of refundable/returnable containers in circulation, year after year. However, every day, over 1.5 million returnable bottles and cans, whether made of glass, plastic or aluminum, are thrown away and eventually end up in landfill. It's vital that we all play our part in preventing this waste of material and energy.

About Marie-Lyne Joncas

Known for her daring sense of humor, Marie-Lyne Joncas has been espousing the Consignaction cause for over a year now. Her first offensives as a pro-deposit-refund influencer (175,000 followers on Instagram) date back to spring 2019. She was also seen defending deposit-refund in a series of buffoonish sketches on social networks at the start of the pandemic, in a hilarious number on the show Occupation Double South Africaand in a public service announcement on La semaine des 4 Julie.

 A few facts

  • In addition to its environmental virtues, deposit-refund provides financial support for social organizations and people in need, and has created thousands of jobs across Quebec.
  • A aluminum can can be recycled ad infinitum without ever losing its properties.
  • The energy saved by recycling a single plastic bottle can power a computer for 25 minutes.
  • A plastic bottle can take up to 400 years to decompose in the environment.
  • A aluminum can takes 200 to 500 years to decompose in the environment.

About Consignaction

Consignaction was set up by Boissons Gazeuses Environnement (BGE). The organization puts forward various programs and initiatives to encourage consumers and businesses to recover returnable bottles and cans, and to facilitate access to various infrastructures for the recovery of these containers.

About the deposit-refund

The deposit-refund system in Quebec has been in existence since 1984. It is a recovery system based on the temporary collection of a deposit when a container is sold. This deposit is refundable to encourage consumers to return their containers for recovery and recycling. In this way, a deposit-refund system represents no cost to the person returning the container. It is only the person who chooses to dispose of the container who incurs a financial cost. In Quebec, aluminum beer and soft drink cans, as well as glass and plastic soft drink bottles, are returnable. deposit-refund ensures that containers returned to retailers are 100% recycled.

Info: 1 877 CANETTE

Source: Sylvie Berthiaume
514 972-4133

Having become obsolete due to a lack of updates from Microsoft, Internet Explorer now poses numerous compatibility problems.

Use the latest browser recommended by Microsoft

Enjoy speed, security and privacy with Microsoft Edge

Download Edge

Consignes-tu? Marie-Lyne Joncas

Consignes-tu ?

Montréal, le 16 septembre 2020 – Consignaction lance une nouvelle campagne publicitaire pour promouvoir la consigne. Avec pour slogan « Consignes-tu ? », cette offensive automnale met en vedette Marie-Lyne Joncas dans un message pressant les Québécois de rapporter leurs contenants consignés par « respect pour la nature ».

Dans une vidéo de 15 secondes, l’artiste connue pour son franc-parler n’hésite pas à interpeller la population et lui rappelle que « c’est fini le temps où l’on jetait n’importe quoi, n’importe où, n’importe comment » et que les contenants consignés « ça se jette pas ! ».

« Les Québécois se préoccupent beaucoup des questions d’environnement et il est clair aujourd’hui que jeter ses contenants consignés est perçu par la plupart comme un geste socialement inacceptable, affirme Normand Bisson, président de Consignaction. Rapporter ses consignés au dépanneur ou au supermarché est un geste écologique élémentaire qui évite le gaspillage de ressources : tous les contenants récupérés sont recyclés à 100 % », précise M. Bisson.

La campagne, qui démarre officiellement aujourd’hui, est diffusée principalement sur le web, notamment sur Youtube, tou.tv, noovo, RDS ainsi que dans les réseaux sociaux. Elle est également présentée à la télévision à l’émission de téléréalité OD, dont Consignaction est commanditaire une fois de plus. Enfin, on retrouvera des affiches coiffées du slogan Consignes-tu ? sur plusieurs artères dans les régions de Montréal et Québec.

Au Québec, Consignaction et ses partenaires réussissent bon an mal an à récupérer près de 75% des contenants consignés en circulation. Cependant, chaque jour, plus de 1,5 million de bouteilles et de canettes consignées, qu’elles soient fabriquées de verre, de plastique ou d’aluminium, sont jetées et se retrouvent éventuellement au dépotoir. La contribution de tous est primordiale afin d’éviter une telle perte de matière et d’énergie.

A propos de Marie-Lyne Joncas

Reconnue pour son humour audacieux, Marie-Lyne Joncas épouse la cause de Consignaction depuis plus d’un an déjà. Ses premières offensives à titre d’influenceuse pro-consigne (175 000 abonnés sur Instagram) remontent au printemps 2019. On a également pu la voir défendre la consigne dans une série de saynètes bouffonnes sur les réseaux sociaux au début de la pandémie, dans un numéro désopilant à l’émission Occupation Double Afrique du Sud, ainsi que dans un message d’intérêt public présenté à La semaine des 4 Julie. 

 Quelques faits

  • Outre ses vertus environnementales, la consigne permet de soutenir financièrement des organismes sociaux ou des personnes dans le besoin et a permis de créer des milliers d’emplois partout au Québec.
  • Une canette d’aluminium est recyclable à l’infini sans jamais perdre ses propriétés
  • L’énergie économisée en recyclant une seule bouteille de plastique permet d’alimenter un ordinateur durant 25 minutes
  • Une bouteille de plastique peut mettre jusqu’à 400 ans pour se décomposer dans l’environnement.
  • Une canette d’aluminium met de 200 à 500 ans pour se décomposer dans l’environnement.

À propos de Consignaction

Consignaction a été instauré par Boissons Gazeuses Environnement (BGE). L’organisme met de l’avant différents programmes et initiatives pour inciter les consommateurs et entreprises à récupérer les bouteilles et les canettes consignées et pour faciliter l’accès à différentes infrastructures de récupération de ces contenants.

À propos de la consigne

Le système de consigne québécois existe depuis 1984. Il s’agit d’un mode de récupération basé sur la perception provisoire d’un dépôt lors de la vente d’un contenant. Ce dépôt est remboursable afin d’inciter le consommateur à retourner son contenant pour qu’il soit récupéré et recyclé. Ainsi, un système de consignation ne représente aucun coût pour la personne qui retourne son contenant. C’est seulement celle qui choisit de jeter son contenant qui assume un coût financier. Au Québec, les canettes de bière et de boisson gazeuse en aluminium ainsi que les bouteilles de boisson gazeuse de verre ou de plastique sont consignées. La consigne permet d’assurer que les contenants rapportés chez les marchands sont recyclés à 100 %.

Infos: 1 877 CANETTE

Source : Sylvie Berthiaume
514 972-4133

Articles Récents